Home / Reviews / Media Reviews / Review: The Aristocrats debut release and 2012 US/Midwest-LA Tour

Review: The Aristocrats debut release and 2012 US/Midwest-LA Tour

Ty Campbell
Bass Frontiers Staff Contributor

The debut release by The Aristocrats is a mix of fusion, blues, and rock, and at times has all elements in a single tune blending very well from passage to passage. The Aristocrats do nothing less than keep you wanting more from this outstanding trio of extremely incredible musicians.

From the opening tune “BOING..I’m In The Back”,which has a tasty riff that sounds like something straight out of a James Bond or Austin Powers movie, to the rippin’, and I do mean rippin’ Blues tune called “Blues (insert imagination here)”, you definitely won’t be disappointed.

The release contains 9 tunes, and I only wish it had more. Guthrie Govan, on guitar, has worked with Asia, GPS, and Erotic Cakes which is his own project. Bryan Beller, on bass, has worked with such artists as Steve Vai, Mike Keneally, Dweezil Zappa, Kira Small, and Dethklok. Rounding out the trio is Marco Minnemann on drums. Marco has worked with Paul Gilbert, Terry Bozzio, and Chad Wackerman. These three fine musicians met at Winter NAMM 2010. When Greg Howe was scheduled to perform with Bryan and Marco couldn’t make the gig, Guthrie was recommended by a fan and the rest is history.

To top it off, The Aristocrats will be kicking off a US-Midwest and L.A tour real soon, with a live DVD taping during the L.A dates.

Friday 5/18: Nashville, TN – The Rutledge
Saturday 5/19: Louisville, KY – Zazoo’s (The New Vintage Showcase)
Monday 5/21: Indianapolis, IN – Birdy’s
Tuesday 5/22: Cleveland, OH – The Tavern (Beachland Ballroom)
Wednesday 5/23: Columbus, OH – Rumba Caf

About admin

Check Also

Bassist’s Guide To Scales Over Chords – Chad Johnson

Scales are no stranger to the bass player. We practice them up and down, in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

6 − five =